Posted by: Isidro | May 11, 2010

Random JDM: Ultramania

When I was about 5 years old I used to enjoy watching English reruns of old Japanese T.V. shows and movies like Godzilla and Ultraman, and a couple others that I don’t remember the names of. They were on one of those non-cartoon channels where the early James Bond movies lived. I remember they were only aired a few times per month, and since I didn’t have much important stuff to do at that time I’d usually catch them. Whenever somebody at home was surfing through the channels I’d keep my eyes peeled for any glimpses of these classic shows. When the shows were on tv I always had feelings of interest and awe which kept me glued to the brown 25-inch television set we had back then.

Of course things change over time, and unfortunately one of those things is cable tv. I wish I could still watch those movies and series episodes on tv right now. They would bring lots of early childhood memories and thoughts, and renew inspirations of some sort. I guess I can probably find them online somewhere.

Japanese car and a Japanese superhero.

I’m glad I found this picture. It sums up what my passions/obsessions would be right now if Ultraman was still aired every now and then, and if it was aired while I was growing up. It also revived an old spark in me just in time, as tomorrow is my last day of school and I’ll have some time to find videos of this long-lost interest.

I re-found this…

Its a sort of old Korean band called Seo Taiji. One of their hit songs is Ultramania (title of post) which debuted in 2000 or 2002. The picture reminded me of this song because I listened to it back in 2007 when one of my friends played it in a computer lab at school, and then listened to it some more later on. Although I don’t understand the words that are coming out of their mouths, I like the way the song sounds. I’m a fan of Korean and Japanese pop & rock, but haven’t listened to any of it in a while.

Seems like its time for me to bring back my past interests.


Responses

  1. haha why are his legs open like that? does he have ultra balls lol, im gonna search up on this now

    • he probably does lol

  2. pretty cool


Leave a Reply

Categories

